Five Years: A Vision

To describe my life, and where I see myself, in the next five years is not an easy task, but by focusing on what I want to accomplish, I can get a better view of the things I’d like to see happen. Ultimately, I want to realize what I feel as my calling of bringing all forms of my art to all. My portfolio will not be limited to my current offerings of dry-media drawings, experimental sound pieces, and a short selection of videos. I plan to add paintings and new drawings employing my favorite medium from my youth, markers. In regards to my audio art, things will take a more musical turn: I will play, sing, and record musical pieces that will have experimental and traditional flavors. My video repertoire will get a boost from my anticipated animated features. As of now, I don’t have any plans for making more live-action experimental pieces but may do so should ideas and resources be available. Which brings me to another aspect of this five-year vision: It’s great to have the finished products, but what will I do to actually get to their completion?

Since I will be graduating with a B.F.A. in Intermedia in spring of 2017, one thing I’ll surely be doing until then is using my time in school to take classes intended to further and hone my creative skills. At the same time, outside of school, I plan to take advantage of opportunities such as jobs and internships that place me in circles within the art world, where I can broaden my network, gain more resources, and build exposure. By also showcasing my current work in various spaces not only here online but also in real-world places such as galleries and art festivals, I will be giving people a feel for the work I already do while I get ready to roll out my newer material.

Is this all doable in five years? I think it’s possible, although we all know that life can present setbacks and advancements that can’t always be predicted. Even with this in mind, I believe it makes sense to say “YES” to every opportunity that allows me to go places with my art, make connections with people, and learn new things. Because to fulfill my purpose is living the life I am to live. So as these next few years unfold, stay tuned!

Write a comment

Comments: 0