A Connection to Animation

As I grew up watching what was to me the fun, magical, and at times limitless worlds of Disney, Hanna-Barbera, Warner Brothers, and the like, I developed a fascination for animation and always wanted to learn how to do it to eventually create my own animated shows and movies starring original characters which my synesthesia has supplied.

 

I first dabbled in animation, particularly of the 3-D sort, with my video A Wander in the Desert Turns to Wonder, but the techniques and purposes behind that piece placed more emphasis on the programming aspect of the software it was created with, Alice. Now, I’d like to take a step back and study 2-D animation, the kind of animation I was interested in the first place. And this school semester, I got to personally meet one new person who just might connect me to the next step in working with this art form, and whom I sense will thus influence my work: Meredith Drum.

 

Meredith is an ASU professor who teaches classes in 2-D and 3-D animation as well as intermedia practices, and has also created animated works herself among other forms of experimental approaches to old and new media. As I was rather nervously preparing all the elements of my portfolio for review by ASU’s School of Art Intermedia Program, she worked with me in making sure I met the requirements. I greatly appreciated the time she took in looking at and discussing my work thoroughly, and gave me a lot of positive feedback. Although I am not taking a class with her right now, I will in the fall for 2-D computer animation. I am looking forward to seeing what new animating skills I will learn and possibly apply to my own upcoming work!

Write a comment

Comments: 0