The Chimes - Now Out!

After over a month of planning, filming, and editing, I am pleased to announce that my new experimental art video, The Chimes: A Loving Memory, is finished and now available for viewing in my Videos page - click on the Portfolio link in the navigation bar above, and then click the Videos icon.

 

If you haven't seen my previous post on the concept of the piece, here is the premise:

 

The driving force of this project are two central ideas: Sound and the heart. The concept of this experimental art video is the exploration of the psychological and physiological effects of sound on the sensations of love, death, and grief. To illustrate this concept, I created a narrative of a “relationship” between two wind chimes, which differ in size but ring in the same key. The combination of the sound of the wind chimes and matters of the heart serves as a metaphor for a real life relationship. In fact, my primary influence for creating this project and story was an actual experience of being in a relationship with my boyfriend who was terminally ill, and having given him musically-tuned wind chimes as a gift before he passed.

 

The completion and posting of this video happen to come on a special day - what would have been Don's birthday. This is my gift.

Write a comment

Comments: 0